Free AI APIs without a card: confirmed routes and exceptions

The short answer

Only three free LLM API tiers say in their own words that no card is needed: OpenRouter's free models (its Free plan works without a payment method), Mistral's Free mode (no credit card required) and Cloudflare Workers AI (start for free, no credit card). Google's Gemini API free tier, Groq's Free plan and Cohere's trial keys are free too, but none of the three states whether a card is needed, so we list them separately. Students have three more verbatim no-card options. Hugging Face's free monthly credit ended in October 2026.

Not wanting to hand over a credit card is a perfectly good reason to be picky — and it is exactly where free-tier listings tend to overclaim. “No card” usually means “nobody mentioned a card”, which is not the same thing. So this list is strict: an offer is here only if its provider says, in its own words, that no card is needed. Everything below is checked against the provider’s own pages, and each offer page quotes the sentence.

Providers that say no card is needed

  1. OpenRouter free models — 50 free-model requests a day (20 a minute), 1,000 a day once you have bought $10 of credits. OpenRouter says its Free plan “works without a payment method”.
  2. Mistral Free mode — the default for new accounts: “API access is enabled by default with no credit card required.” Mistral no longer publishes how much usage Free mode includes. This applies to personal Free mode; the organisation setup has separate billing requirements.
  3. Cloudflare Workers AI — 10,000 Neurons a day on the Free plan, resetting at 00:00 UTC. Cloudflare: “Start building for free — no credit card required.” Eight listed models require paid billing and are excluded from that free route.

Students have three more: Azure for Students ($100 for 12 months — “A credit card is not required”), the GitHub Student Developer Pack ($100 Azure credit, “no credit card required”) and JetBrains’ student licence (3 AI Credits every 30 days — “No card required”).

Free, but the provider doesn’t say

These are genuinely free and very good — they just never state the card question, so we mark it “not stated” rather than guess:

  • Google’s Gemini API free tier — selected Gemini and Gemma models; Google lists the only qualification as an “Active project or free trial”.
  • Groq’s Free plan — 30 requests a minute on gpt-oss; Groq asks for a payment method “to upgrade from the Free tier to the Developer tier”.
  • Cohere trial keys — 1,000 API calls a month, issued on sign-up.

Hugging Face’s monthly credit used to belong here; since 7 October 2026 its docs list none for free accounts.

Check usage limits separately from payment rules

No-card access does not remove rate limits, model exclusions or data-use terms. Compare RPM, TPM and reset periods, and use the API directory for the current product list. Do not treat a web-app credit or chat subscription as an API allowance.

When you may need a payment method

Free tiers are rate-limited. If you outgrow them, the next step is usually a cloud trial credit — Google Cloud ($300) or Azure ($200), both of which require a payment method, or AWS (up to $200), which now says most new customers can sign up without one but may ask for it.

Filter the full directory to No card in the homepage catalogue: it shows only offers whose provider says so.

The offers in this guide

  • OpenRouter Free LLM router
    Open

    OpenRouter free models (:free)

    Call a rotating set of LLMs free through OpenRouter's ':free' model variants — 50 requests/day with no purchase, 1,000/day after buying $10 in credits.

    Free value
    50 requests / day
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every day · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — 50/day without purchase; 1,000/day after purchasing at least $10 in credits. Also limited to 20/minute. Reset time and timezone are not stated in the pricing FAQ.
    Who
    Anyone with an OpenRouter account. The higher 1,000/day cap requires a one-time $10 credit purchase.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Mistral AI Provider free tier
    Open

    Mistral Free plan

    Mistral's Free mode, the default for new accounts, lets you create API keys and call the API with no credit card required. Mistral no longer publishes a dollar figure for the included monthly usage, and shows your rate limits only after you sign in.

    Free value
    No fixed amount / month
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every month · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Included usage and rate limits are account-specific; no public numeric quota is stated.
    Who
    Anyone creating a Mistral account — Mistral's documentation states "Free mode is the default state for new accounts."

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Cloudflare Provider free tier
    Open

    Cloudflare Workers AI free tier

    Run open models on Cloudflare Workers AI for free — 10,000 Neurons per day on the free plan, resetting daily. Cloudflare says you can start building for free with no credit card.

    Free value
    10,000 Neurons / day
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every day · 00:00 · UTC
    Who
    Anyone with a Cloudflare account — Cloudflare says "Workers AI is included in both the Free and Paid Workers plans".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Google AI (Gemini) Provider free tier
    Open

    Google AI Studio / Gemini API free tier

    Build with the Gemini API free tier on selected models, subject to model-specific and account limits. Check the Free Tier column before choosing a model; access to Google AI Studio does not make every model free.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Model-specific free tiers and account rate limits; no universal quota or reset timezone is stated here.
    Who
    Anyone aged 18 or over with a Google account in a supported country or territory — Google's Gemini API terms state "You must be 18 years of age or older to use the APIs".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Groq Free LLM router
    Open

    GroqCloud free tier

    Start building on GroqCloud's $0 Free plan — very fast inference on open models including OpenAI's gpt-oss and Qwen. Groq asks for a payment method when you upgrade to the paid Developer tier.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Per-model per-minute and daily limits apply; use account Limits for exact organisation quotas.
    Who
    Anyone who signs up for a GroqCloud account.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Cohere Provider free tier
    Open

    Cohere trial (evaluation) API keys

    Free Cohere evaluation API keys, issued on sign-up — up to 1,000 API calls per month for prototyping.

    Free value
    Up to 1,000 requests / month
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every month · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — 1,000 API calls/month for evaluation keys; reset day and timezone are not stated.
    Who
    Anyone who creates a free Cohere dashboard account.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Microsoft Azure Student & education
    Open

    Azure for Students

    Verified students get $100 in Azure credits for 12 months with no credit card, usable on Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models — and renewable each year you are still a student.

    Free value
    $100
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    12 months after signup
    Who
    You must affirm you are age 18 or older and attend an accredited, degree-granting two-year or four-year institution as a full-time student, and verify academic status through your institution's email address. One subscription per eligible customer, non-transferable, and not combinable with other offers. Microsoft states activations are in limited supply and the offer runs only while supplies last.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • GitHub Student & education
    Open

    GitHub Student Developer Pack — Azure credit & AI offers

    Verified students get $100 in Azure credit plus 25+ free Azure services through the GitHub Student Developer Pack — and the bundled Copilot Student plan is available again after the 2026 pause.

    Free value
    $100
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    12 months after activation — The $100 benefit is Azure for Students; other Pack benefits have their own terms.
    Who
    Verified students (school email + proof of enrollment) via GitHub Education. The $100 Azure credit requires being 18 or older; students aged 13–17 get Azure service access without the credit.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • JetBrains Student & education
    Open

    JetBrains educational licence with AI Free

    Eligible JetBrains educational licences include AI Free: 3 AI Credits every 30 days, unlimited code completion and local-model use. AI Pro may be offered as a separate trial; it is not the ongoing free entitlement.

    Free value
    3 AI credits
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · Every 30 days from first activation of the JetBrains AI licence · timezone not stated — No timezone is stated; 30 days is not a calendar month.
    Who
    Full-time students "in a program lasting one year or more" (the Student Pack requirements box; the same page's FAQ says "longer than one year"), verified with a university email address. JetBrains states that "JetBrains educational licenses are issued to accredited academic institutions (high schools, colleges, and universities)".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Hugging Face Free LLM router
    Ended

    Hugging Face Inference Providers free credits (discontinued)

    Ended: since 7 October 2026 Hugging Face's pricing docs say free accounts get no monthly Inference Providers credit — free users must buy credits. PRO ($9/month) still includes $2.00 of monthly compute credits.

    Free value
    $0
    Card required
    Card required
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    The free monthly allowance has ended; there is no current free balance.
    Who
    No longer available. Hugging Face's docs listed a monthly credit for every free account until they were changed on 7 October 2026.

    Free accounts no longer receive monthly Inference Providers credits. Paid-plan credits are a separate benefit.

Frequently asked questions

Which AI APIs say you need no credit card?
Three LLM API free tiers say so in their own words: OpenRouter (its Free plan works without a payment method), Mistral (Free mode API access is enabled with no credit card required) and Cloudflare Workers AI (start building for free, no credit card required). For students, Azure for Students, the GitHub Student Developer Pack's Azure credit and JetBrains' student licence also state it.
Do Gemini, Groq and Cohere need a credit card?
None of the three says either way. Google lists the Gemini free tier's only qualification as an active project or free trial; Groq asks for a payment method when you upgrade to its paid Developer tier; Cohere issues trial keys on sign-up. All three are free to use, but we do not claim no card on a provider's behalf.
Why do some free offers ask for a card?
Cloud platforms such as Google Cloud and Azure ask for a payment method to verify identity on their free trials, and trial credits such as Cerebras' and Nebius' are only granted after you add one. AWS now says most new customers can sign up without one, but it may still ask.