Free LLM API rate limits compared: which tier survives your traffic?

The short answer

Free tiers fail on the shape of your traffic, not its size. Groq publishes a useful worked example (30 requests/min, 1,000/day, 200K tokens/day on gpt-oss-120b). OpenRouter gives 20/min but only 50 requests/day, rising to 1,000/day once you have ever bought $10 of credits. Cohere meters a whole month at once — 1,000 calls — with per-endpoint ceilings underneath. Cloudflare Workers AI gives 10,000 Neurons/day, a compute unit rather than a request count. Google's Gemini free tier publishes no numbers at all; you read yours in AI Studio. The practical answer is to match the meter to your workload and hold several keys.

Every “best free LLM API” list ranks tiers by how big they sound. That is the wrong axis. A free tier fails because of the shape of your traffic — a burst that exceeds a per-minute cap, a long tail that exhausts a daily one, a single enormous prompt that blows a token ceiling — and those are three different limits that bind at three different moments.

So here is the same question asked properly: what does each provider actually meter, and what are the published numbers? Everything below was verified against the current offer records and their official sources on 21 October 2026, and each row links to the offer page carrying its primary source.

The published free limits, side by side

ProviderRequests/minRequests/dayTokensMetersCard
Groq301,0008K/min · 200K/dayRequests + tokensNot stated
NVIDIA NIMUp to 40 for most modelsNot stated hereModel-specificRequestsNot stated
OpenRouter2050 (1,000 after $10 spend)—RequestsNo card
Cohere20 (Chat)——Calls/month (1,000)Not stated
Cloudflare Workers AI———10,000 Neurons/dayNo card
Gemini free tierNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedRequestsNot stated

“No card” means the provider says so in its own words; “Not stated” means it does not say either way.

Groq’s figures are for openai/gpt-oss-120b; openai/gpt-oss-20b and qwen/qwen3.8-27b share 30 requests/min, 1,000 requests/day, 8,000 tokens/min and 200,000 tokens/day, while openai/gpt-oss-safeguard-20b is tighter at 3 requests/min. Groq’s agentic groq/compound systems, which used to appear here, were decommissioned on 21 September 2026.

One entry is in the table to be honest about what it is, not because it is comparable: Cloudflare meters Neurons, a normalised compute unit, so your real capacity depends entirely on which model you call. Hugging Face’s $0.10 monthly balance used to sit beside it; its docs have listed no free-account credit since 7 October 2026.

And Google publishes no numbers. The Gemini free tier is genuinely free, but its per-model limits vary by usage tier and are shown inside AI Studio rather than documented publicly. We could publish a number we read off one account, but it would not be a fact about your account, so we do not.

Match the meter to the workload

Request-heavy and interactive — a chat bot, an autocomplete, anything a person waits for. You are bound by requests per minute first. Groq at 30/min has a clearly documented worked example, and it runs on hardware fast enough that latency is a feature rather than a tax. The number to design against is the daily cap of 1,000, not the per-minute one.

Bursty and unpredictable — anything with public traffic. No free tier survives this, because they all cap per minute and a burst fails rather than queues. Hold keys at two or three providers and fall back between them; their quotas are independent. Our rate-limit guide covers the retry discipline that stops a burst becoming a burned day.

Few, large calls on a schedule — a nightly summariser, a document pass, an eval run. Per-minute caps barely matter; the daily ceiling does. Cloudflare Workers AI resets 10,000 Neurons at 00:00 UTC every day; this is a reset, not a guarantee that the programme will continue forever.

Embeddings, search and reranking — a different shape again, because you send many small inputs. Cohere is the specialist: 1,000 API calls a month on a trial key, with per-endpoint ceilings underneath (Chat 20/min, Rerank 10/min, Tokenize 100/min). Check the current trial Embed limit in your dashboard. Note the month-long meter — there is no daily reset to wait for, so a bad afternoon costs you the rest of the month.

Trying many models — OpenRouter is the variety buffet: one key, a rotating catalogue of :free models, 20 requests a minute. The catch is volume: 50 requests a day until you have bought $10 of credits at some point in the account’s life, after which it is 1,000/day permanently. It is the best prototyping tier here and the worst production one.

Three traps the numbers do not show

The tightest limit wins, and it is rarely the one you were watching. Groq’s 30 requests/min and 8,000 tokens/min are simultaneous ceilings: thirty requests carrying 300 tokens each will hit the token limit first. Check the shape of every limit, not the size of the headline one.

Failed requests can still cost you. OpenRouter states that “Failed attempts count toward that daily cap”. A retry loop without backoff converts one bad request into an exhausted day.

A free tier can stop being free. This is not hypothetical — it happened twice in two months. Cerebras was in this comparison until September 2026 on the strength of 1M tokens/day per model; its documentation now states there is no permanently free tier, that the $5 in credits arrive only “after adding a verified payment method”, and that they expire 30 days later. Then, on 7 October 2026, Hugging Face’s docs dropped the free-account monthly credit altogether. The change log records what moved on each pass; check the last-verified date on any table before you build against it, including this one.

The verdict

There is no single winner, because there is no single meter. If you want one default, take the Gemini free tier for breadth and Groq for anything where requests per minute is the binding constraint — then add OpenRouter for variety and Cloudflare for scheduled volume. Holding all four keys costs nothing, and their quotas are independent, which is the only real protection against any one of them changing.

For the full picture, see free AI API tiers, the side-by-side of what each tier gives you, and how to combine free tiers legitimately.

The offers in this guide

Frequently asked questions

Which free LLM API has the highest rate limit?
It depends on the unit, because providers meter different things. Groq’s gpt-oss example allows 30/min; NVIDIA publishes up to 40/min for most NIM models, with model-specific exceptions. By requests per day, Groq again at 1,000/day — the same figure OpenRouter reaches only after you have bought $10 of credits at some point. By tokens per day, Groq's 200,000 on gpt-oss-120b is the largest published number among the ongoing free tiers. Cloudflare meters compute rather than requests (10,000 Neurons/day), so there is no request count to compare.
Which free tier is best for a chatbot?
Groq. A conversational workload is request-heavy and latency-sensitive, and its gpt-oss example publishes 30 requests per minute. Watch the daily cap rather than the per-minute one: 1,000 requests a day is roughly one message every 90 seconds sustained around the clock, which is plenty for a personal bot and thin for anything public.
Which free tier is best for a batch or scheduled job?
Cloudflare Workers AI, because its 10,000-Neuron allowance resets daily at 00:00 UTC. Estimate the Neuron cost of your exact model and workload first. Check which models you need first — a short list of large third-party models requires a paid billing method and will not run on the free allowance at all.
Do failed requests count against a free tier quota?
On some providers, yes. OpenRouter states that "Failed attempts count toward that daily cap", which is why a naive retry loop makes a rate-limit problem worse rather than better. Retry with exponential backoff and jitter, cap total attempts, and treat a 429 as a signal to wait rather than to try harder.
Do any of these need a credit card?
OpenRouter and Cloudflare Workers AI say in their own words that you can start without one. Groq, Cohere and the Gemini free tier do not say either way, so we mark them as not stated. Cerebras used to belong in this comparison and no longer does: since September 2026 it requires a verified payment method and its $5 in credits expire after 30 days, which makes it a trial rather than a free tier.