Mistral AI · Provider free tier
OpenMistral Free plan
Mistral's Free mode, the default for new accounts, lets you create API keys and call the API with no credit card required. Mistral no longer publishes a dollar figure for the included monthly usage, and shows your rate limits only after you sign in.
Last verified Official source (opens in a new tab) docs.mistral.ai
Key facts
- Free value
- No fixed amount / month
- Details
- No published figure: Mistral says Free mode lets you "use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page", which sits behind a login. The $10/month it advertised in September 2026 is no longer on its pricing page.
- Credit card required
- No card
- Availability
- Open
Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.
- Application deadline
- No deadline stated
- Credit validity
- Not stated by the provider
- Allowance resets
- Every month · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Included usage and rate limits are account-specific; no public numeric quota is stated.
- Eligibility
- Anyone creating a Mistral account — Mistral's documentation states "Free mode is the default state for new accounts."
Current conditions
- The exact included usage is not publicly quantified; inspect your Limits page.
- Pay-as-you-go billing beyond the included allowance requires a separate opt-in and prepaid credits.
What you get
New accounts start in Free mode with API access enabled and no credit card required. Included monthly usage is shared across Studio, the API and Vibe Code. Mistral does not publish a universal numeric allowance; inspect your Limits page for model and account limits. Usage stops at the included allowance unless pay-as-you-go billing is enabled, in which case additional usage consumes prepaid credits.
How to claim it
- Create an account at console.mistral.ai — Free mode is the default for new accounts
- Generate an API key
- Call the API within Free mode's included monthly usage; check your own numeric limits on the console's Limits page
Verification history and earlier terms
This dated editorial record includes superseded conditions. Use the current facts above for eligibility and access.
PUBLISHED 2026-09-19 — resolves V6, a draft held since 2026-06-14. The blocker was always "nothing numeric is quotable publicly"; that is no longer true. Verbatim from mistral.ai/pricing, independently re-fetched today: "$10 /mo in API credits". Corroborated on Mistral's own billing docs: "Each Mistral plan includes monthly usage that is shared across Studio, the API, and Vibe Code. Usage consumes this monthly allowance first." and "Free mode is the default state for new accounts." (docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/subscriptions, re-fetched today). WHAT IS STILL LOGIN-GATED, and is therefore still not published here: the numeric rate limits. docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits says only that Free mode lets you "use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page", and that Limits page is behind authentication. So this record publishes the credit figure and deliberately no RPM/RPD/TPM. CARD REQUIREMENT IS NOT STATED ANYWHERE AND IS NOT ASSERTED IN USER-FACING COPY. This was checked properly rather than assumed: the string "credit card" appears ZERO times across the whole of docs.mistral.ai/llms-full.txt (992 KB, fetched today), and the pricing page does not mention cards either. An earlier research pass offered a quote reading "Studio is enabled in Free mode by default, with no credit card required" — that sentence could not be re-found on any Mistral property and is NOT relied on. `cardRequired: false` here is structural, resting only on "Free mode is the default state for new accounts", and is disclosed the same way V27 discloses it for Cohere, Hugging Face, OpenRouter and Cloudflare. Tracked as V33. No `no-card` tag for that reason. Re-verified 2026-10-10: MATERIALLY CHANGED — the headline figure is gone. mistral.ai/pricing/ no longer shows "$10 /mo in API credits" on the Free plan: the Free card now lists exactly "Test out Vibe’s capabilities. / Access on web and mobile. / Limited messages and web searches. / Limited coding sessions. / Basic image generation and editing. / 100+ connectors.", and the only API-credit lines on the page are Pro's "$15 /mo in API credits." (and "$25.5 /mo in API credits." under the education toggle). "$10" appears nowhere on the pricing page (curl of SSR HTML + independent WebFetch) nor in docs.mistral.ai/llms-full.txt (2.77 MB). Still true, verbatim: "Free mode is the default state for new accounts." and "Each Mistral plan includes monthly usage that is shared across Studio, the API, and Vibe Code." (docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/subscriptions); "Free mode lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page." (docs.mistral.ai/admin/billing-usage/usage-limits) — i.e. Free mode still has included usage, but Mistral no longer quantifies it. CARD NOW VERBATIM (closes V33 for Mistral): "Free mode: API access is enabled by default with no credit card required. Usage and rate limits apply." (docs.mistral.ai/getting-started/quickstarts/studio/activate-and-generate-api-key) and "Studio is enabled in Free mode by default, with no credit card required." (docs.mistral.ai/getting-started/quickstarts/developer/first-api-request) — both rendered in the page HTML today; this is the sentence September could not re-find. Scope caveat: the team quickstart (getting-started/quickstarts/admin/create-organization) requires "A credit card or cloud billing account" and says "Team members can't generate working API keys until billing is active." Numeric rate limits remain login-only; help.mistral.ai article 698531 says only "Free mode (the default) has the lowest limits, intended for evaluation and prototyping." ADVERSARIALLY RE-VERIFIED 2026-10-10: an independent curl of mistral.ai/pricing/ (417 KB SSR) found 0 hits for '$10', '10 /mo', '10/mo' and '€10'; 'API credits' appears only on Pro ($15) and its education variant ($25.5). Both no-card sentences re-found in server-rendered HTML (the rendered form has no space before the colon). ADR-0024 applied: the figure is removed and the offer kept — Free mode still exists, still includes usage, and is now verbatim card-free. creditAmount → null; source of record moved to the quickstart that carries both 'Free mode' and the no-card sentence. Re-verified 2026-10-21 in the audit-remediation source sweep: current primary offer page and the material eligibility, validity, unit and payment evidence recorded in SOURCE-VERIFICATION.csv. Historical notes above are retained as history, not current terms. No account was created and no claim was submitted.