JetBrains · Student & education

Open

JetBrains educational licence with AI Free

Eligible JetBrains educational licences include AI Free: 3 AI Credits every 30 days, unlimited code completion and local-model use. AI Pro may be offered as a separate trial; it is not the ongoing free entitlement.

Key facts

Free value
3 AI credits
Details
3 AI Credits per 30-day period, resetting automatically; JetBrains states "1 AI Credit is equivalent to USD 1.00"
Credit card required
No card
Availability
Open

Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Application deadline
No deadline stated
Credit validity
Not stated by the provider
Allowance resets
See provider terms · Every 30 days from first activation of the JetBrains AI licence · timezone not stated — No timezone is stated; 30 days is not a calendar month.
Eligibility
Full-time students "in a program lasting one year or more" (the Student Pack requirements box; the same page's FAQ says "longer than one year"), verified with a university email address. JetBrains states that "JetBrains educational licenses are issued to accredited academic institutions (high schools, colleges, and universities)".

Current conditions

  • The recurring entitlement is AI Free, not an ongoing AI Pro subscription; a separate AI Pro trial may be offered.
  • Requires an eligible active IDE licence; Android Studio and unlicensed IntelliJ IDEA/PyCharm editions are excluded.

What you get

A free JetBrains educational licence for the IDEs, which carries the AI Free tier rather than an ongoing AI Pro subscription. A separate 30-day AI Pro trial is offered on first activation. AI Free gives "3 AI Credits per 30-days" of cloud-model quota, resetting every 30 days, and JetBrains values a credit at "USD 1.00". Alongside the metered quota JetBrains' AI FAQ lists "Unlimited code completion (powered by JetBrains’ Mellum model)" and "Unlimited use of your own local models, connected via Ollama, LM Studio, or another OpenAI-compatible server". The Student Pack page describes the AI benefit as "access to AI chat and agents like Codex, Claude Agent, and Junie". Published exclusions: AI Free is unavailable in Android Studio, in IntelliJ IDEA without an Ultimate subscription and PyCharm without a Pro subscription; it needs IDE version 2025.1 or newer; and it is limited to JetBrains' serviceable territories, currently excluding Mainland China.

How to claim it

  1. Apply through the JetBrains Student Pack and verify with your university email address — JetBrains states "No card required"
  2. Install a JetBrains IDE at version 2025.1 or newer (not a Community Edition, and not Android Studio)
  3. Activate JetBrains AI in the IDE; the educational licence carries the AI Free tier
  4. Keep your student status current — the Student Pack is for the duration of your studies
Verification history and earlier terms

This dated editorial record includes superseded conditions. Use the current facts above for eligibility and access.

Verified 2026-09-19 from JetBrains-owned properties only. The load-bearing link between "student" and "AI Free" is verbatim on lp.jetbrains.com/ai-ides-faq/, independently re-fetched today: "AI Free is available to all users with active JetBrains IDE licenses, including educational licenses, classroom licenses, open source licenses, IDE trial licenses, licenses for users in the Startup Program, and other complimentary licenses." The same FAQ states the important negative, which is why this record leads with it: "AI Pro is not included in complimentary All Products Pack subscriptions for students, teachers, and classrooms, or for Open Source program participants." Quota verbatim from the AI Assistant help docs: "AI Free | Free | 3 AI Credits per 30-days", with "Each AI Credit equals $1 USD charged in your local currency." and, from the FAQ, "1 AI Credit is equivalent to USD 1.00". Reset cadence from JetBrains' support KB: "The quota resets automatically every 30 days." ON THE AI *TRIAL* FIGURE, corrected by the adversarial pass: the help page shows both "10 AI Credits per trial period" and "20 AI Credits per trial period", which looked like JetBrains contradicting itself. It is not — the two figures sit under different tabs (Individual use vs Organizations per-user). The same pass confirmed the 3-credit AI Free figure is identical on BOTH tabs and in the JetBrains Central pool table, which is why it is safe to publish. No trial figure is published here because it is tab-dependent and a student reads the Individual tab. Also note www.jetbrains.com/community/education/ and /academy/student-pack/ render client-side and are unreadable to a fetcher; the figures above come from the help docs, the FAQ and the support KB instead. CARD REQUIREMENT IS NOT STATED verbatim and is not asserted in user-facing copy; JetBrains' education blog says "Your JetBrains IDE student licenses will be completely free" and the verification routes are email/ISIC/GitHub, so `cardRequired: false` is structural and disclosed — tracked as V33. SCOPE: this is an IDE-assistant allowance, not raw API access; it is listed because the student category already covers tooling benefits (see github-student-pack-ai-offers) and the local-model support makes it genuinely useful without spend. Re-verified 2026-10-10. Unchanged verbatim: "AI Free is available to all users with active JetBrains IDE licenses, including educational licenses, ..." and "1 AI Credit is equivalent to USD 1.00 (charged in your local currency)." (lp.jetbrains.com/ai-ides-faq/); "AI Free | Free | 3 | AI Credits per | 30-days", identical on both tabs and in the Central pool table, plus all four exclusions (www.jetbrains.com/help/ai-assistant/licensing-and-subscriptions.html); the rendered buy page shows "3 AI Credits per 30 days" and "1 AI Credit is worth USD 1.00 (charged in your local currency)." Reset is now verbatim on the FAQ: "Your included quota resets every 30 days from the date you first activated your JetBrains AI license". Verbatim nits: the FAQ renders "*Al Pro is not included in complimentary All Products Pack subscriptions for students, teachers, and classrooms, or for Open Source program participants." (JetBrains' lowercase-L typo) and "JetBrains’ Mellum model" with a curly apostrophe. CARD — V33 RESOLVED FOR THIS RECORD: the client-rendered Student Pack page (www.jetbrains.com/academy/student-pack/, read by rendering browser) shows "No card required" as the visible subtitle of its "Who can benefit?" section, above "Students | Access tools at no cost for the duration of your studies". ELIGIBILITY: "JetBrains educational licenses are issued to accredited academic institutions (high schools, colleges, and universities)." is re-found on www.jetbrains.com/lp/edu-program-user-flow/; the other two quoted strings ("by providing your official university email address or an ISIC/ITIC student ID..." and "remains active as long as you're a student, but it must be renewed annually") were NOT found today and are replaced by the Student Pack page's "Verify your student status with your university email address, ISIC/ITIC card, or GitHub Student Developer Pack.", "Access tools at no cost for the duration of your studies" and "Renewed annually in your JetBrains Account", plus the condition "Full-time student in a program lasting one year or more." claimUrl www.jetbrains.com/community/education/ now redirects to www.jetbrains.com/academy/student-pack/. ADVERSARIALLY RE-VERIFIED 2026-10-10: 'No card required' UPHELD — rendered (Chrome) as the subtitle of the Student Pack page's 'Who can benefit?' section, beside 'Fast verification with your university email address', and the application form has no payment fields; cardRequired false is now verbatim (closes V33 for JetBrains). Figures UPHELD; 'Unlimited …' and the student AI Pro exclusion live on lp.jetbrains.com/ai-ides-faq/ (our sourceUrl). Eligibility PARTLY: the two older quotes are still on a 2025-08-12 blog post but one carries a proof-of-enrollment route JetBrains ended in July 2024, so they were replaced with the current Student Pack wording. 'The licence activates both AI Assistant and Junie' removed — no JetBrains page says it; replaced with the Student Pack's own bullet. Re-verified 2026-10-21 in the audit-remediation source sweep: current primary offer page and the material eligibility, validity, unit and payment evidence recorded in SOURCE-VERIFICATION.csv. Historical notes above are retained as history, not current terms. No account was created and no claim was submitted.

Dated change log and sources