How to get free AI credits as a student

The short answer

Four student offers are verified today. Azure for Students gives $100 in Azure credit for 12 months, renewable while you study, and Microsoft says no credit card is required. The GitHub Student Developer Pack lists the $100 Azure for Students benefit (18+, no card) plus Copilot Student, which GitHub again describes as available to verified students. JetBrains' free educational licence carries 3 AI Credits every 30 days, no card. Google AI Pro is free for a year for eligible US college students — but it is a consumer app, not API access, needs a payment method and auto-charges afterwards. Everything else students use is the free tiers open to everyone.

Student status unlocks a handful of genuinely useful AI offers. This guide covers how to claim them, what each actually pays for, and the one that is not what it looks like.

Before you start, set expectations honestly: much of what a student uses is not student-specific. The free AI API tiers — Gemini, Groq, OpenRouter, Cloudflare, Mistral, Cohere — are open to everyone and need no student verification. Claim those too.

1. Azure for Students — the cleanest student credit

Azure for Students gives verified students $100 in Azure credits “to be used within the first 12 months”, and Microsoft says you can “renew each year that you’re an active student”. Microsoft states plainly: “A credit card is not required for the Azure for Students offer.” You must be 18 or over and a full-time student at an accredited, degree-granting institution, and you verify with your school email. Microsoft’s student page lists Azure OpenAI among the services students can access. To renew, sign up for the offer again on the Azure for Students website — Microsoft emails a reminder before your anniversary.

One rule worth knowing in advance: a Microsoft account you have used for Azure for Students cannot later be used for Microsoft for Startups.

2. GitHub Student Developer Pack — Azure benefit and Copilot

Apply to the GitHub Student Developer Pack with proof of enrolment. Its Azure listing is not evidence of a second, stackable $100 grant; do not count the same benefit twice. Its AI-relevant benefits:

  • Azure: “Free access to 25+ Microsoft Azure cloud services plus $100 in Azure credit”, for students aged 18+, with “no credit card required”. Students aged 13–17 get a set of Azure services without the credit.
  • Copilot Student: the April 2026 sign-up pause is over — the pack page says “GitHub Copilot Student is available to verified students”, with “unlimited code completions and an allowance of GitHub AI Credits”. GitHub publishes no number for that allowance. Activate it from your education benefits page once approved; GitHub says approval and Copilot activation are separate steps.

3. JetBrains educational licence — AI inside the IDE

A free JetBrains educational licence carries the AI Free tier: 3 AI Credits every 30 days from first licence activation (JetBrains values a credit at USD 1.00), plus unlimited code completion and unlimited use of your own local models. JetBrains’ Student Pack page says “No card required”; it is for full-time students “in a program lasting one year or more”, verified with a university email. AI Pro is not included for students.

4. Google AI Pro for students — read the terms first

Eligible US college students aged 18+ can get 12 months of Google AI Pro free if they redeem by 31 December 2026. Three things to know: it is a consumer Gemini subscription, not API access; Google requires “Valid form of payment required at sign-up”; and “Unless cancelled earlier, Google AI Pro will automatically charge $19.99/month after the trial ends.” If you want the Gemini API, use the separate Gemini API free tier.

Spend the credit without wasting it

  1. Set a budget alert in the Azure portal on day one. It takes two minutes.
  2. Prototype on a free tier, not on the credit. Iterate on prompts with the Gemini free tier or Groq, and spend Azure credit on the work that needs it.
  3. Know what happens at zero. Microsoft’s terms say an Azure for Students subscription whose credit is exhausted is disabled until you upgrade.
  4. Do not create second accounts to multiply anything. Student programmes verify, and revoked credits cost more than they were worth. See combining free AI tiers legitimately.

If you are also building a company alongside your studies, check the startup AI credits pillar — Google’s Start tier requires no equity funding, while Anthropic’s general Claude Startups cohort is currently closed.

For the live, dated list of everything a student can claim, see the student AI credits pillar.

The offers in this guide

  • Microsoft Azure Student & education
    Open

    Azure for Students

    Verified students get $100 in Azure credits for 12 months with no credit card, usable on Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models — and renewable each year you are still a student.

    Free value
    $100
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    12 months after signup
    Who
    You must affirm you are age 18 or older and attend an accredited, degree-granting two-year or four-year institution as a full-time student, and verify academic status through your institution's email address. One subscription per eligible customer, non-transferable, and not combinable with other offers. Microsoft states activations are in limited supply and the offer runs only while supplies last.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • GitHub Student & education
    Open

    GitHub Student Developer Pack — Azure credit & AI offers

    Verified students get $100 in Azure credit plus 25+ free Azure services through the GitHub Student Developer Pack — and the bundled Copilot Student plan is available again after the 2026 pause.

    Free value
    $100
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    12 months after activation — The $100 benefit is Azure for Students; other Pack benefits have their own terms.
    Who
    Verified students (school email + proof of enrollment) via GitHub Education. The $100 Azure credit requires being 18 or older; students aged 13–17 get Azure service access without the credit.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • JetBrains Student & education
    Open

    JetBrains educational licence with AI Free

    Eligible JetBrains educational licences include AI Free: 3 AI Credits every 30 days, unlimited code completion and local-model use. AI Pro may be offered as a separate trial; it is not the ongoing free entitlement.

    Free value
    3 AI credits
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · Every 30 days from first activation of the JetBrains AI licence · timezone not stated — No timezone is stated; 30 days is not a calendar month.
    Who
    Full-time students "in a program lasting one year or more" (the Student Pack requirements box; the same page's FAQ says "longer than one year"), verified with a university email address. JetBrains states that "JetBrains educational licenses are issued to accredited academic institutions (high schools, colleges, and universities)".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Google AI (Gemini) Student & education
    Open

    Google AI Pro student offer

    Eligible US college students get 12 months of Google AI Pro free. Read the terms: it is consumer Gemini app access rather than API credits, a payment method is required at sign-up, and it auto-charges $19.99/month afterwards.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: conditional A valid form of payment is required to redeem the subscription; the terms do not require a card specifically for every supported payment route.
    Application deadline
    31 Dec 2026
    Credit validity
    12 months after activation — The period begins when the offer is redeemed.
    Who
    "The free Google AI Pro student offer is available to eligible U.S. college students ages 18+." Both new users and students whose 2025 AI Pro trial has expired can qualify. You verify student status through SheerID, use a personal Google Account, and "Eligibility must be verified each year to maintain access." The offer must be redeemed by 31 December 2026.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Google AI (Gemini) Provider free tier
    Open

    Google AI Studio / Gemini API free tier

    Build with the Gemini API free tier on selected models, subject to model-specific and account limits. Check the Free Tier column before choosing a model; access to Google AI Studio does not make every model free.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Model-specific free tiers and account rate limits; no universal quota or reset timezone is stated here.
    Who
    Anyone aged 18 or over with a Google account in a supported country or territory — Google's Gemini API terms state "You must be 18 years of age or older to use the APIs".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Groq Free LLM router
    Open

    GroqCloud free tier

    Start building on GroqCloud's $0 Free plan — very fast inference on open models including OpenAI's gpt-oss and Qwen. Groq asks for a payment method when you upgrade to the paid Developer tier.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Per-model per-minute and daily limits apply; use account Limits for exact organisation quotas.
    Who
    Anyone who signs up for a GroqCloud account.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • OpenRouter Free LLM router
    Open

    OpenRouter free models (:free)

    Call a rotating set of LLMs free through OpenRouter's ':free' model variants — 50 requests/day with no purchase, 1,000/day after buying $10 in credits.

    Free value
    50 requests / day
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every day · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — 50/day without purchase; 1,000/day after purchasing at least $10 in credits. Also limited to 20/minute. Reset time and timezone are not stated in the pricing FAQ.
    Who
    Anyone with an OpenRouter account. The higher 1,000/day cap requires a one-time $10 credit purchase.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Frequently asked questions

What free AI credits can students get?
Azure for Students ($100 in Azure credit for 12 months, renewable while you study, no card), the GitHub Student Developer Pack ($100 Azure credit for students 18+, no card, plus Copilot Student), JetBrains' free educational licence (3 AI Credits every 30 days, no card) and, for eligible US college students, a free year of Google AI Pro — a consumer subscription that needs a payment method and auto-charges afterwards.
How much Azure credit do students get?
Azure for Students gives $100 'to be used within the first 12 months', renewable each year you are an active student. The GitHub Student Developer Pack states '$100 in Azure credit' plus 'free access to 25+ Microsoft Azure cloud services' for students aged 18 and over; students aged 13-17 get a set of Azure services without the credit.
Can students still get GitHub Copilot free?
Yes, again. GitHub paused new sign-ups in April 2026; the pause banner is gone, and the pack page now says 'GitHub Copilot Student is available to verified students', with an allowance of GitHub AI Credits that GitHub does not quantify. GitHub says approval and Copilot activation are separate steps.
Do students need a credit card for these offers?
Not for three of them: Microsoft states 'A credit card is not required for the Azure for Students offer', GitHub labels its Azure benefit 'no credit card required', and JetBrains' Student Pack page says 'No card required'. Google AI Pro for students is the exception — Google requires a valid form of payment at sign-up.