OpenAI vs Claude vs Gemini: what is free for API users?

The short answer

Among these three first-party APIs, Gemini documents an ongoing free tier on selected models. We have not confirmed a general free OpenAI or Claude API sign-up credit. ChatGPT and Claude chat plans are separate. Claude’s general startup cohort is closed; eligible partner-VC and AWS Activate routes have their own conditions.

For API experiments, Gemini is the only one of these three with a documented ongoing free tier on selected first-party models. OpenAI and Claude are paid APIs unless a specific promotion or eligible credit programme applies. Compare the product you will actually call, not the name on a free chat app.

At a glance

API routeWhat is freeCard / billingLimits and exclusions
Gemini APISelected models within the Free tierCard policy not explicitly stated in the sources we checkedLimits shown per account/model in AI Studio; not every model is free
OpenAI APINo general sign-up credit confirmedPaid API billing is separate from ChatGPTCheck current model prices; an OpenAI-compatible third-party API is not an OpenAI credit
Claude Console APINo general sign-up credit confirmedPrepaid usage or an eligible award; startup card policy not statedGeneral startup cohort closed; partner-VC route conditional
Azure student/startup programmesEligible Azure credit for covered modelsStudents: no card; startup programme: card requiredAccount/subscription eligibility and model coverage apply
AWS Activate for ClaudeApproved startup credits for eligible Bedrock usagePaid AWS plan requiredSeparate AWS balance; not an Anthropic Console credit

Gemini: selected models and account-specific limits

Google’s billing documentation says new accounts begin on the Free tier. Check the current pricing table for the exact model and your limits in AI Studio. Do not copy a limit from someone else’s account.

The Google Cloud $300 trial is a different balance, valid for 90 days. It covers eligible Google Cloud services, including Google’s own models on Agent Platform, and excludes the standalone Gemini API and partner models such as Claude. The Gemini terms distinguish paid and unpaid data-use rules and regional exceptions; review them before sending sensitive material.

OpenAI: separate API billing from ChatGPT

Check OpenAI’s API pricing and the billing view for the API account. We have not confirmed a general free sign-up credit; this does not rule out a targeted promotion for a particular account.

For eligible Azure subscriptions, Azure for Students and Microsoft for Startups describe access to Azure OpenAI models. Those are Microsoft programmes, not credit transferred to an OpenAI API account. Groq’s open-weight gpt-oss models and OpenRouter’s free variants are another option, but they are not the same service as OpenAI’s hosted API.

Claude: check availability before applying

The general Claude Startups cohort is closed. Current members retain access; eligible startups backed by a partner VC may separately receive credits for the first-party API. The Claude guide explains those steps and AWS Activate’s separate Bedrock route.

Do not assume that AWS new-account credits, Google’s $300 trial or a Claude Team subscription pay for Console API usage. Use the API directory to choose an ongoing allowance, and the rate-limit comparison to check whether it fits your workload.

The offers in this guide

  • Google AI (Gemini) Provider free tier
    Open

    Google AI Studio / Gemini API free tier

    Build with the Gemini API free tier on selected models, subject to model-specific and account limits. Check the Free Tier column before choosing a model; access to Google AI Studio does not make every model free.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Model-specific free tiers and account rate limits; no universal quota or reset timezone is stated here.
    Who
    Anyone aged 18 or over with a Google account in a supported country or territory — Google's Gemini API terms state "You must be 18 years of age or older to use the APIs".

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Google Cloud Cloud AI credits
    Open

    Google Cloud free trial — $300 credit

    New Google Cloud accounts get a $300 welcome credit to spend over 90 days — usable on Google's own Gemini models in Gemini Enterprise Agent Platform (formerly Vertex AI), but not on the standalone Gemini API or on third-party partner models. A payment method is required.

    Free value
    $300
    Card required
    Card: conditional A credit card or another supported payment method is required; available methods depend on country.
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    90 days after signup
    Who
    New customers who have never been a paying user of Google Cloud, Google Maps Platform or Firebase, and who haven't signed up for the Free Trial before.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Anthropic (Claude) Startup program
    Applications closed

    Claude Startups — general applications closed

    The Claude Startups cohort is full and is not accepting new applications. Current members keep access. Startups backed by a partner VC may separately qualify for up to $100,000 in first-party Claude API credits.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    No public validity period is stated for the conditional partner-VC credits.
    Who
    No new applications are currently accepted for the general cohort. Existing members continue in the programme. The separate API-credit route requires backing by a VC in Anthropic's partner network and is subject to eligibility, not a guaranteed grant.

    The general cohort is full and new applications are closed. Current members retain access; a separate partner-VC route may offer up to $100,000 in first-party API credits.

  • Amazon Web Services Startup program
    Open

    AWS Activate startup credits

    Eligible startups can get up to $200,000 in AWS Activate credits — usable across eligible AWS services, including third-party models such as Anthropic's on Amazon Bedrock. You apply with an AWS account on a paid plan, which AWS says you reach by entering a payment method.

    Free value
    Up to $200,000
    Card required
    Card required
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    Usually 1–2 years depending on the package; use the expiry assigned in the AWS console.
    Who
    Pre-Series B startups founded within the last 10 years with an AWS account on a paid plan, new to Activate credits (or requesting more). The Portfolio tier requires an Organization ID from an AWS Activate Provider (accelerator, incubator or VC).

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Amazon Web Services Cloud AI credits
    Open

    AWS Free Tier credits (route to Bedrock)

    New AWS accounts get up to $200 in credits — $100 on signup plus up to $100 more for completing activities — usable on Amazon Bedrock. AWS now says most new customers can sign up without a card, but may ask for one.

    Free value
    Up to $200
    Card required
    Card: conditional Most new customers can sign up without a payment method; AWS may request one to verify identity.
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    AWS FAQ conflicts: General Q6 and Advanced Features Q2 say 6 months after account creation; Free Plan Q8 and activity-credit Q5 say 12 months. Check the expiry shown in your AWS account.
    Who
    New AWS customers, on the Free or Paid plan. AWS says a payment method "isn't required to sign up for most new customers" on its new sign-up flow, but may request one to verify identity; you are not charged while you stay on the Free plan.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Microsoft Azure Student & education
    Open

    Azure for Students

    Verified students get $100 in Azure credits for 12 months with no credit card, usable on Azure OpenAI in Foundry Models — and renewable each year you are still a student.

    Free value
    $100
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    12 months after signup
    Who
    You must affirm you are age 18 or older and attend an accredited, degree-granting two-year or four-year institution as a full-time student, and verify academic status through your institution's email address. One subscription per eligible customer, non-transferable, and not combinable with other offers. Microsoft states activations are in limited supply and the offer runs only while supplies last.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Microsoft Azure Startup program
    Open

    Microsoft for Startups — Azure credits

    Microsoft for Startups offers $1,000 in starter Azure credits after account setup and approval-dependent expansion up to $150,000. It is for eligible early-stage B2B startups; a personal Microsoft account with no prior Azure use and card details are required.

    Free value
    Up to $150,000
    Card required
    Card required
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    Credit stages have different validity periods. Azure for Startups advertises 90 days initially and 180 days after verification; these are not the validity of every $150,000 award.
    Who
    B2B startups building software, AI or technology solutions — privately held and independent (not a subsidiary), pre-seed through Series B (Microsoft says you must "Not have raised Series C funding or later"), working toward or already at an MVP, and headquartered in a supported region. Open to founders with or without an investor referral code. A Microsoft account already used for the Azure free account, Azure for Students or another Azure offer is ineligible.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Frequently asked questions

Does a free chat account include API credits?
No automatic API entitlement follows from a free ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini chat account. API billing and access are separate products; check the API-specific offer.
Which of the three has an ongoing free API tier?
Google documents a Gemini API Free tier for selected models, with per-model limits in AI Studio. Some models have no free-tier availability. A Google Cloud trial balance is a different product.
Can I get free Claude API credits today?
There is no confirmed general sign-up credit. The general Claude Startups cohort is closed; qualifying partner-VC startups may have a separate route, and AWS Activate authorises eligible Claude usage on Bedrock.
What happens when the free limit runs out?
It depends on the product and billing settings. A free quota is not unlimited access; paid API usage needs the relevant billing arrangement. Check the provider’s actual limit and billing settings before sending more traffic.