Free Mistral API access: Free mode, no card

Every new Mistral account starts in Free mode, with API keys, included monthly usage and — in Mistral’s own words — no credit card required. How much usage is included, Mistral no longer says publicly.

The short answer

Changed in October 2026. We listed the Mistral Free plan in September because Mistral had begun publishing a figure: $10 a month in API credits. On 10 October that figure was no longer on Mistral’s pricing page, and it appears nowhere in Mistral’s documentation. Free mode itself is unchanged, and Mistral now states verbatim that it needs no credit card — so the listing stays, without a number.

Mistral’s billing docs add the detail that matters if you use more than one of its products: “Each Mistral plan includes monthly usage that is shared across Studio, the API, and Vibe Code. Usage consumes this monthly allowance first.” If you want a published, numeric allowance instead, compare the other free AI API tiers or the one-off trial credits; the change log records what moved.

  • Mistral AI Provider free tier
    Open

    Mistral Free plan

    Mistral's Free mode, the default for new accounts, lets you create API keys and call the API with no credit card required. Mistral no longer publishes a dollar figure for the included monthly usage, and shows your rate limits only after you sign in.

    Free value
    No fixed amount / month
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every month · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Included usage and rate limits are account-specific; no public numeric quota is stated.
    Who
    Anyone creating a Mistral account — Mistral's documentation states "Free mode is the default state for new accounts."

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Frequently asked questions

Does Mistral have a free tier?
Yes. Mistral’s documentation states that “Free mode is the default state for new accounts” and that it “lets you create API keys and use included monthly usage within the limits shown on the Limits page”. What Mistral no longer publishes is how much usage that is: the $10 a month in API credits it advertised in September 2026 is gone from its pricing page.
Does the Mistral free tier need a credit card?
No, in Mistral’s own words: “Free mode: API access is enabled by default with no credit card required.” That applies to individual accounts. Mistral’s team quickstart says organisations need “A credit card or cloud billing account” before members can generate working keys.
What are Mistral’s free-tier limits?
Mistral does not publish them. Your numbers are on the Limits page in the console, which sits behind a login, and Mistral’s help centre says only that Free mode “has the lowest limits, intended for evaluation and prototyping.”
What happens when I use up the Free allowance?
Mistral says each plan’s monthly usage is “shared across Studio, the API, and Vibe Code”, and that you can “Keep going past your plan limit by paying only for what you use beyond it at API rate.”