OpenRouter vs Groq vs Together AI: who actually has a free tier?

The short answer

Two of the three are genuinely free: OpenRouter gives 50 free-model requests/day (20/minute; 1,000/day once you've ever bought $10 of credits) across a rotating catalogue of ':free' models, and GroqCloud has a $0 Free plan with published per-model limits (e.g. 30 requests/min and 200K tokens/day on openai/gpt-oss-120b). Together AI is the odd one out — its billing docs state it does not currently offer free trials and access requires a minimum $15 credit purchase.

“OpenRouter vs Groq vs Together” is a common comparison, but it hides a category error: only two of the three have a free tier at all. Here’s what each actually gives you, verified against their own docs.

At a glance

PlatformFree tier?Free limitsCard neededModel selection
OpenRouterYes — ‘:free’ models20 req/min; 50 req/day (1,000/day after a $10 lifetime top-up)No cardRotating catalogue, many providers
GroqYes — free planPer-model, published (e.g. gpt-oss-120b: 30 rpm, 200K tok/day)Not statedOpen models (gpt-oss, Qwen)
Together AINo”Does not currently offer free trials”; $15 minimum purchase— (prepaid)Large open-model catalogue (paid)

OpenRouter — the widest free selection

OpenRouter’s free models are variants whose IDs end in :free, callable through one OpenAI-compatible API. Free usage is capped at 20 requests/minute and 50 requests/day; if you’ve ever purchased at least $10 in credits, the daily cap rises to 1,000 free-model requests. Two practical caveats: the list of :free models rotates over time, and OpenRouter states that “Failed attempts count toward that daily cap”, so handle errors with backoff rather than blind retries. Best for: trying many models cheaply, fallback chains, and low-volume apps that value variety.

Groq — the fastest free tokens

GroqCloud’s free plan runs open models on custom LPU hardware, and its per-model free limits are now published — for example openai/gpt-oss-120b allows 30 requests/minute, 1,000 requests/day, 8,000 tokens/minute and 200,000 tokens/day on the free plan. Groq does not say whether the Free plan needs a card; its billing FAQ says a payment method is needed “to upgrade from the Free tier to the Developer tier”. Its agentic groq/compound systems were decommissioned on 21 September 2026. Best for: latency-sensitive prototypes and anything where inference speed is the feature.

For these two against every other free tier, see free LLM API rate limits compared.

Together AI — a good paid platform, not a free one

Together AI hosts a large open-model catalogue, but its billing docs are unambiguous: “Together AI does not currently offer free trials. Access to the Together platform requires a minimum $15 credit purchase.” (It was $5 when we first checked.) The platform is fully prepaid — “If your balance reaches zero, API access is suspended until you add credits” — though Together says prepaid credits “do not currently have an expiration date”. That makes Together a reasonable $15 entry-level paid option, not a free tier, which is why it isn’t listed in our free-offers directory.

Verdict

For zero-cost usage today: OpenRouter for breadth, Groq for speed — and they combine well, since each has independent limits. Reach for Together only when you’ve outgrown free tiers and are ready to prepay. For everything else that’s free right now, see the free LLM routers category and the flagship roundup.

The offers in this guide

  • OpenRouter Free LLM router
    Open

    OpenRouter free models (:free)

    Call a rotating set of LLMs free through OpenRouter's ':free' model variants — 50 requests/day with no purchase, 1,000/day after buying $10 in credits.

    Free value
    50 requests / day
    Card required
    No card
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    Every day · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — 50/day without purchase; 1,000/day after purchasing at least $10 in credits. Also limited to 20/minute. Reset time and timezone are not stated in the pricing FAQ.
    Who
    Anyone with an OpenRouter account. The higher 1,000/day cap requires a one-time $10 credit purchase.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Groq Free LLM router
    Open

    GroqCloud free tier

    Start building on GroqCloud's $0 Free plan — very fast inference on open models including OpenAI's gpt-oss and Qwen. Groq asks for a payment method when you upgrade to the paid Developer tier.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Allowance resets
    See provider terms · reset time not stated · timezone not stated — Per-model per-minute and daily limits apply; use account Limits for exact organisation quotas.
    Who
    Anyone who signs up for a GroqCloud account.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Frequently asked questions

Does Together AI have a free tier?
No. Together AI's billing docs state it does not currently offer free trials, and access to the platform requires a minimum $15 credit purchase (it was $5 when we first checked in 2026). The platform is fully prepaid — a positive balance is required to use it — and Together says prepaid credits do not currently expire.
Is OpenRouter really free?
For ':free' model variants, yes: 50 requests/day and 20 requests/minute with no purchase. A one-time lifetime purchase of $10 in credits raises the daily cap to 1,000 free-model requests. Paid models on OpenRouter are pay-per-use as normal.
Do Groq or OpenRouter need a credit card?
OpenRouter says its Free plan works without a payment method. Groq does not say either way for its Free plan; its billing FAQ says a payment method is needed to upgrade from the Free tier to the paid Developer tier.