Stability AI · Trial credit
Open25 free credits on the Developer Platform
New Stability AI Developer Platform accounts get 25 free credits for its image, upscaling and audio models. At Stability's own rate of 1 credit = $0.01 that is 25 cents — a few generations, not a budget.
Last verified Official source (opens in a new tab) docs.stability.ai
Key facts
- Free value
- 25 credits
- Details
- 25 platform credits; Stability states "1 credit = $0.01", so roughly $0.25 of usage — and its getting-started doc ties the grant to signing up with Google
- Credit card required
- Card: not stated
- Availability
- Open
Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.
- Application deadline
- No deadline stated
- Credit validity
- 1 year after issue — General service-credit terms apply to credits issued on or after 30 September 2026 unless otherwise specified; the sign-up grant is not separately named.
- Eligibility
- New Stability AI Developer Platform accounts. The two official pages differ on whether the grant is unconditional or tied to Google social sign-in, and neither resolves it, so both framings are reported rather than one being picked.
Current conditions
- The pricing page advertises 25 free credits; the getting-started page specifically ties them to Google social login.
- These are platform credits: 25 credits equals $0.25 at the published conversion. Card requirements are not stated.
What you get
25 credits on the Stability AI Developer Platform, spendable across its image, upscaling and audio models through the API. Credits are the metering unit and per-call costs vary by model: the pricing page lists Stable Image Ultra at 8 credits, Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large at 6.5, Stable Image Core at 3, Fast Upscaler at 2, and Stable Audio 2.5 and the newer Stable Audio 3.0 at 8 each. So 25 credits is three Ultra images or three audio generations. Afterwards, "additional credits can be purchased via your Billing dashboard at a rate of $1 USD per 100 credits." Note that Stability's two pages frame the grant differently: the pricing page says simply "Get started with 25 free credits", while the getting-started doc attaches it to the Google sign-in route — "Creating your account with Google's social login will grant you 25 free credits." If the credits do not appear, try the Google login. Stability also warns that "Pricing is subject to change as we improve our models and infrastructure." Stability's Terms of Service (effective 30 September 2026) add that "Unused service credits (that were issued on or after the effective date of these Terms) expire one year after the date of purchase or issuance, unless otherwise specified" — the clause does not name the sign-up credits specifically. Stability does not say whether a card is needed to claim the free credits.
How to claim it
- Create an account at platform.stability.ai — the getting-started doc ties the 25 free credits to the Google social-login route
- Create an API key on the API Keys page
- Call the API; each model costs a published number of credits per call
Verification history and earlier terms
This dated editorial record includes superseded conditions. Use the current facts above for eligibility and access.
Verified 2026-09-19 and independently adversarially re-verified the same day; the refutation pass could not break any field. Amount verbatim: "Get started with 25 free credits. Check your credit balance and purchase additional credits on your account page." Unit verbatim: "API usage is based on credits. 1 credit = $0.01." Top-up rate verbatim: "After depleting your free credits, additional credits can be purchased via your Billing dashboard at a rate of $1 USD per 100 credits." Per-model credit costs read from the pricing page's data. PROVENANCE CAVEAT, RECORDED HONESTLY: platform.stability.ai is a single-page app — a plain curl of /pricing returns a 1,644-byte shell with none of these strings, so this record could NOT be confirmed by raw-HTML grep the way the NVIDIA one was. It rests instead on two independent rendering reads on 2026-09-19, the second of which set out to refute the first and additionally traced the router and component tree to confirm these strings actually render on /pricing and /docs/getting-started rather than being dead code. The next sweep should use a rendering fetch, not curl. Tracked as V35. ELIGIBILITY CONFLICT, published rather than resolved (ADR-0023): the pricing page states the grant unconditionally while the getting-started doc says "Creating your account with Google's social login will grant you 25 free credits" — both are shown in user-facing copy. CARD REQUIREMENT IS NOT STATED and is not asserted: "credit card" and "payment method" appear zero times in the whole platform bundle. `cardRequired: false` is structural and disclosed (V33). NOT SOURCED: any expiry for the 25 credits, any region or age restriction, any exclusion list — the refutation pass confirmed none is published. Re-verified 2026-10-10 with a RENDERING read (Claude-in-Chrome; curl of /pricing is still the 1,644-byte shell and was not relied on). Unchanged verbatim: "Get started with 25 free credits. Check your credit balance and purchase additional credits on your account page." and "API usage is based on credits. 1 credit = $0.01." (platform.stability.ai/pricing); "After depleting your free credits, additional credits can be purchased via your Billing dashboard at a rate of $1 USD per 100 credits." and "Creating your account with Google's social login will grant you 25 free credits!" (platform.stability.ai/docs/getting-started — note the '!'). New third source on the unconditional side: "New accounts receive 25 free credits for initial testing and evaluation purposes." (kb.stability.ai/knowledge-base/where-can-i-find-my-api-key, server-rendered) — the Google-login conflict still stands and is still published, not resolved. CHANGED: Stable Audio 2.5 now costs 8 credits (was 20), and a Stable Audio 3.0 row also costs 8, so 25 credits is three audio generations, not one. NEW: stability.ai/terms-of-service, "Effective: September 30, 2026", covers the API and says "We may also offer service credits for free as part of a promotional program." and "Unused service credits (that were issued on or after the effective date of these Terms) expire one year after the date of purchase or issuance, unless otherwise specified." Card still NOT STATED anywhere ('credit card'/'payment method' 0 in the bundle; ToS requires billing information only "If you purchase access to our Services"). Legacy DreamStudio '200 free credits' strings in the bundle render nowhere (/docs/getting-started/credits-and-billing is a 404) — dead code under ADR-0035. ADVERSARIALLY RE-VERIFIED 2026-10-10 by a second, independent rendering read in Chrome: every figure UPHELD (1 credit = $0.01; 25 free credits; Ultra 8, SD 3.5 Large 6.5, Core 3, Fast Upscaler 2, Stable Audio 2.5 = 8, Stable Audio 3.0 = 8). ToS clause re-found in the server-rendered terms under Section 7(d). V35 (provenance) resolved: two rendering reads agree. cardRequired → null (ADR-0037). Re-verified 2026-10-21 in the audit-remediation source sweep: current primary offer page and the material eligibility, validity, unit and payment evidence recorded in SOURCE-VERIFICATION.csv. Historical notes above are retained as history, not current terms. No account was created and no claim was submitted.