Startup AI credits: check eligibility before applying

The short answer

Choose a programme you qualify for before comparing headline awards. AWS Activate Founders, Google Start and Microsoft for Startups have routes without a VC referral. Higher tiers add funding or partner conditions. Claude Startups is closed to general applications; its separate partner-VC credit route is conditional. Token grants and dollar credits are not a common value scale.

The startup directory compares current application status and amounts. This guide helps you decide which application to prepare, without treating a headline ceiling as money already granted.

1. Match your company to an open route

Your situationRoute to checkWhat you must establish
Self-funded startupAWS Activate FoundersPre-Series B, founded within 10 years, eligible prior-credit history and a paid AWS plan
No institutional equity yetGoogle StartCurrent Start-tier criteria, an MVP and the programme’s funding conditions
B2B software or AI startupMicrosoft for StartupsPrivately held, pre-seed through Series B, eligible region and account
Backed by an accelerator or VCAWS Portfolio / Google ScaleRelevant partner ID or qualifying funding round; not simply any investment
Funded open-model startupDeepInfra DeepStart$250K–$10M raised and founded within two years, subject to application approval
Seeking Claude’s general cohortClaude StartupsClosed to new applications; current members retain access
Backed by an Anthropic partner VCSeparate Claude API-credit routeAsk that VC about eligibility; up to $100,000 is conditional, not guaranteed

Google’s programme pages have differed on company-age limits. Follow the current criteria for your exact route rather than borrowing the limit from another tier. Do not misstate founding dates or funding to fit a programme.

2. Check the actual product your credit pays for

AWS Activate can cover eligible third-party models on Bedrock, including Claude. Its Founders entry starts at $1,000, with up to $5,000 for qualifying participants; Portfolio can reach $200,000 with an Activate Provider association. The paid-plan prerequisite means you must also understand normal AWS charges. See the Activate application guide.

Google Start offers up to $2,000 for 12 months. Scale offers up to $200,000 over two years; AI-first programmes can reach $350,000. These are ceilings, and year two covers only 20% of eligible usage, up to $100,000. Third-party models are excluded. Google requires a Cloud Billing account; payment arrangements depend on account type and country.

Microsoft for Startups currently documents $1,000 starter credits and approval-dependent expansion up to $150,000. It covers eligible models sold and billed directly by Azure, including Azure OpenAI; Anthropic and other excluded Marketplace models need separate payment. Card details are required. The Microsoft claim guide explains the account and verification steps.

DeepStart describes about 50 billion tokens, calculated at DeepSeek V4 Flash prices. That is not a $50 billion award or an identical number of tokens on every model. Credits expire a year after approval. DeepInfra’s service requires a card or prepayment; the programme does not say whether a grant changes that requirement.

3. Separate the application clock from the credit clock

An application being open does not mean an award has no expiry. Do not start spending until approval and the credit balance are visible. Record the activation or issue date, the console’s expiry and the eligible billing account. We have not submitted applications or measured provider approval times.

Microsoft advertises 90 days for an initial Azure for Startups stage and 180 days after verification; those windows do not establish the validity of every $150,000 award. For other programmes, use the award-specific terms linked from each offer.

4. Plan the bill after the benefit

Microsoft states that sponsorship converts to pay as you go when credits are used or expire. Google Scale’s year-two co-payment is a cost even while credits remain. Budget alerts notify you; they are not hard spending caps. Check model exclusions, paid-plan requirements and cancellation settings before starting a workload.

If Claude is essential, use the Claude route guide. If you do not yet have a qualifying company, use an API free tier or a time-limited trial.

The offers in this guide

  • Amazon Web Services Startup program
    Open

    AWS Activate startup credits

    Eligible startups can get up to $200,000 in AWS Activate credits — usable across eligible AWS services, including third-party models such as Anthropic's on Amazon Bedrock. You apply with an AWS account on a paid plan, which AWS says you reach by entering a payment method.

    Free value
    Up to $200,000
    Card required
    Card required
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    Usually 1–2 years depending on the package; use the expiry assigned in the AWS console.
    Who
    Pre-Series B startups founded within the last 10 years with an AWS account on a paid plan, new to Activate credits (or requesting more). The Portfolio tier requires an Organization ID from an AWS Activate Provider (accelerator, incubator or VC).

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Microsoft Azure Startup program
    Open

    Microsoft for Startups — Azure credits

    Microsoft for Startups offers $1,000 in starter Azure credits after account setup and approval-dependent expansion up to $150,000. It is for eligible early-stage B2B startups; a personal Microsoft account with no prior Azure use and card details are required.

    Free value
    Up to $150,000
    Card required
    Card required
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    Credit stages have different validity periods. Azure for Startups advertises 90 days initially and 180 days after verification; these are not the validity of every $150,000 award.
    Who
    B2B startups building software, AI or technology solutions — privately held and independent (not a subsidiary), pre-seed through Series B (Microsoft says you must "Not have raised Series C funding or later"), working toward or already at an MVP, and headquartered in a supported region. Open to founders with or without an investor referral code. A Microsoft account already used for the Azure free account, Azure for Students or another Azure offer is ineligible.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Google Cloud Startup program
    Open

    Google for Startups Cloud Program

    Eligible startups get Google Cloud credits — up to $2,000 on the Start tier, or up to $200,000 over two years on the Scale tier (year 2 covers 20% of usage). AI-first startups can reach $350,000. Third-party models are not covered.

    Free value
    Up to $200,000
    Card required
    Card: conditional A Cloud Billing account is required. Self-serve accounts use a supported payment method; separately approved invoiced accounts are another option.
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    Start: 12 months; Scale/AI: coverage over two years, with 20% of eligible spend covered in year two. Award-specific start and expiry dates are not stated here.
    Who
    Apply to the tier matching your stage. Google's Start page requires an MVP, a clear business model, plans to seek venture funding, founding within 24 months, and no credits beyond the free trial. The Scale page requires recent pre-seed to Series A funding, founding within five years, and no more than $5,000 of prior Google Cloud credits. The overview gives a broader three-to-five-year criterion depending on tier; use the specific tier page and application for your eligibility. A company domain and Google Cloud billing ID are required.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

  • Anthropic (Claude) Startup program
    Applications closed

    Claude Startups — general applications closed

    The Claude Startups cohort is full and is not accepting new applications. Current members keep access. Startups backed by a partner VC may separately qualify for up to $100,000 in first-party Claude API credits.

    Free value
    No fixed amount
    Card required
    Card: not stated
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    No public validity period is stated for the conditional partner-VC credits.
    Who
    No new applications are currently accepted for the general cohort. Existing members continue in the programme. The separate API-credit route requires backing by a VC in Anthropic's partner network and is subject to eligibility, not a guaranteed grant.

    The general cohort is full and new applications are closed. Current members retain access; a separate partner-VC route may offer up to $100,000 in first-party API credits.

  • DeepInfra Startup program
    Open

    DeepStart

    DeepInfra's startup programme grants about 50 billion free inference tokens, valid for a year after approval, to startups that have raised between $250K and $10M and were founded in the last two years.

    Free value
    Up to 50,000,000,000 tokens
    Card required
    Card: conditional DeepInfra requires a card or prepayment to use its services; the programme page does not state whether a grant changes that requirement.
    Application deadline
    No deadline stated
    Credit validity
    1 year after approval
    Who
    Startups that have "raised between 250K and 10M USD" and were "founded in the last 2 years", by application. DeepInfra publishes no region restriction or exclusion list for DeepStart.

    Available subject to the provider eligibility and usage conditions.

Frequently asked questions

Can a bootstrapped company get startup credits?
There are routes through AWS Activate Founders, Google Start and Microsoft for Startups, subject to company, product and account eligibility. Claude’s general cohort is currently closed; being bootstrapped does not bypass that closure.
Which programmes can cover Claude?
AWS Activate authorises eligible third-party models on Bedrock. Anthropic partner-VC credits, where granted, apply to its first-party API. Google and Microsoft startup credits exclude Anthropic models.
Is the headline ceiling the amount I receive?
No. Awards depend on eligibility, tier, prior credits, usage and approval. Google Scale’s second year covers only 20% of eligible spend, up to its stated cap. Microsoft unlocks credits in stages.
When do credits expire?
Use the expiry assigned to your award. AWS describes typical validity of one to two years. Google Start lasts 12 months; Scale covers two years. DeepStart expires a year after approval. Microsoft’s stages have different windows, and no single period applies to every maximum award.